Sunday Sundries! Ingredients to the Evercos Herbal Clinic Hanbang Sheet Masks

These herbal clinic sheet masks from Evercos are some of my favorites! I’ve searched far and wide and could not find the ingredients for these sheet masks in English anywhere on the internet. I generally like to know what I’m putting on my face, so I buckled down and translated them for you all!

evercos masks

All the pretty sheet masks!

Cat, who definitely knows her sheet masks, first raved about these sheet masks here and here a few months back. Everyone’s skin is different and there have been plenty of sheet masks loved by many that I have been less than fond of, but as a ginseng lover and hanbang liker, I immediately went grabby hands all over these! I first ordered the ginseng and licorice ones with Avecko’s assistance, LOVED them, and proceeded to order all the different varieties from 11st.

Btw, Cat also put together this awesome guide on how to order from 11st, which is one of the two places I know of to find these masks (the other being Testerkorea).

The masks are humbly made out of cotton, which may seem boring given all the fancy hydrogel and silk masks available these days, but they are incredibly soft, pliable, and soaked in essence. Also, the scent on all of these except ginseng is pretty subtle.

Ingredients and Impressions

In alphabetical order:

APRICOT KERNEL // 행인

evercos apricot kernel

Fragrance and Impressions: Wonderfully soothing and hydrating. This mask is faintly scented and smells sweet and floral! It’s my favorite of the bunch to use in the mornings, because I find it to be very refreshing. Also, if you are wary of herbal scents, this is a good one to start with because I cannot detect any herbal-ness to it at all. Also, despite 행인 written on the front of the sheet mask, I don’t actually see any apricot kernel in the ingredients, which is kind of weird. It’s possible I’m translating 행인 incorrectly, but google is pointing me towards “prunus armeniaca,” which is a type of apricot, and testerkorea has this mask listed as apricot kernel. It does contain chestnut shell extract though.

Ingredients (Click here for Cosdna Analysis): Purified Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Castanea Crenata (Chestnut) Shell Extract, Natto Gum, Wheat Amino Acids, Coix Lacryma-Jobi Ma-yuen Seed (Job’s Tears) Extract, Angelica Dahurica Root Extract, Sodium hyaluronate, Witch Hazel Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopherol Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Methyl paraben, Fragrance

GINSENG // 홍삼

evercos ginsengFragrance and Impressions: Great for hydration. It has a medium-to-high intensity ginseng scent. If you like ginseng, you will likely love this mask. If you don’t like ginseng, consider yourself warned! This is the one I reach for when I’ve been spending too much time outdoors or in the sun because I find ginseng to be a very calming scent.

Ingredients (Click here for Cosdna Analysis): Purified Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Ginseng Extract (1% concentration), Witch Hazel Extract, Angelica Leaf Extract, Angelica Extract, Natto gum, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Wheat Amino Acids, Sodium ascorbyl phosphate, Sodium hyaluronate, Carbomer, Tocopherol Acetate, Triethanolamine, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Methyl paraben, Fragrance

HOUTTUYNIA CORDATA // 어성초

evercos HOUTTUYNIA CORDATA maskFragrance and Impressions: Skin feels nicely hydrating after use. Whenever I’m putting this mask on, I start humming hakuna matata to myself. My brain can’t quite figure out how to pronounce “houttuynia cordata” so I just remember this as the hakuna matata mask!

Ingredients (Click here for Cosdna Analysis): Purified Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, Natto Gum, Wheat Amino Acids, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Witch Hazel Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

LICORICE // 감초

evercos licoriceFragrance and Impressions: Skin feels nicely hydrated after use. Licorice is an anti-inflammatory and brightening powerhouse ingredient. The scent is barely detectable but has a hint of smokiness to it.

Ingredients (Click here for Cosdna Analysis): Purified Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Licorice Extract, Natto Gum, Wheat Amino Acids, Taraxacum Platycarpum Extract, Artemisia Capillaris Flower Extract, Sodium hyaluronate, Witch Hazel Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopherol Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Methyl paraben, Fragrance

PHELLINUS LINTEUS // 상황버섯

PHELLINUS LINTEUS evercos maskFragrance and impressions: Skin feels nicely hydrated after use. In addition to phellinus linteus, which is a medicinal mushroom, this mask also contains Job’s Tears (aka Chinese Pearl Barley, aka Adlay), which is another ingredient used for its brightening properties! It has an herbal, earthy scent. My mother used to make me drink this Chinese traditional medicine soup as a child whenever I had a fever, and when wearing this mask I get whiffs of that soup. For this reason, this is probably my least favorite of the masks. However, the scent is so faint that I doubt most people would be bothered by it.

Ingredients (Click here for Cosdna Analysis): Purified Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Phellinus linteus extract (1%), Natto Gum, Wheat Amino Acids, Sodium hyaluronate, Witch Hazel Extract, Coix Lacryma-Jobi Ma-yuen Seed (Job’s Tears) Extract, Angelica Dahurica Root Extract, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Tocopherol Acetate, Ascorbic Acid, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Methyl paraben, Ethyl Paraben, Propyl paraben, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

PORIA COCOS // 백봉령

evercos poria cocosFragrance and Impressions: Skin feels nicely hydrated after use. I actually find this mask best for immediate brightening effects – the areas of my face prone to redness look less red immediately after this mask. It has a faint, somewhat sweet scent. Also, remember how the apricot kernel mask didn’t have any apricot kernel in it? This one does!

Ingredients (Click here for Cosdna Analysis): Purified Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Poria Cocos Extract, Natto Gum, Wheat Amino Acids, Sodium hyaluronate, Witch Hazel Extract, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Extract, Licorice Extract, Tocopherol Acetate, Sodium ascorbyl phosphate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Methyl paraben, Fragrance

Side-by-Side Ingredients

Here are all the ingredients, side by side, if you’re interested in how similar / different these masks are to each other. Ingredients common to all masks are highlighted in blue. As you can, see there a lot of blue!

evercos ingredients vanityrex

My personal favorites are the ginseng mask, because I find the scent of ginseng to be pleasant and calming (although there are plenty of people who don’t like the scent so this is a very personal preference here). The poria cocos mask, which interestingly is the only one that uses sodium ascorbyl phospate instead of ascorbic acid for Vitamin C, has the best anti-redness effect on my skin. The apricot kernel mask, which actually contains walnut shell instead of apricot kernel, is another favorite because of its floral scent.

My one gripe about these masks is that they do leave my face sticky. Most sheet masks make my face sticky, so this isn’t some horrendous oversight of Evercos’s or anything. How I deal with this is after I remove my mask, I will spray my face with a non-sticky, oil-free mist, then pat my face until dry. If I’m sitting around reading a book or watching Netflix, I will repeat this a few times. I feel like the mist helps the excess essence, which is causing the stickiness, to absorb into my skin better, and the wetness of the mist will slowly lessen the stickiness of my face.

That’s it for today! There will be more sheet mask round-up posts to come! What are your favorite sheet masks? Also, if you guys have any tricks to deal with residual stickiness, I would love to know!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Sundries! Ingredients to the Evercos Herbal Clinic Hanbang Sheet Masks

Leave a comment